A Sneak Peek of My Map


This is the cover to what I have of my map so far. It is folded similarly to the Marauder’s Map in Harry Potter, even though I initially didn’t plan for that to happen at all. My first idea was to have a pirate-ish sort of map design, but that fell through and I thought folding my map this way would be pretty interesting. Before this project I didn’t even know that the Marauder’s Map is even from Harry Potter because I haven’t read any of the books (I know, I know…I’m working on it). So I hope I don’t ruin this design for anyone through my map!

This map is made out of paper and is two-dimensional only. The purpose is to describe the fifth floor of the library since that’s where our classroom is and make a magical interpretation of it. I’m also working on this map on my own.

I was initially going to go to the Skirvin and make a map of an area there, but between other homework and getting paperwork filled out for transferring schools, I didn’t have as much time as I had anticipated. Instead, I went with the area that our classroom is located in since I know the AUM students will be in that area for sure during their stay. The library is a place filled with countless amounts of books filled with all kinds of information, so it seemed like the perfect place to be eerie and magical. I’ve included a couple real-life things on the map that are interesting as well. For instance, there are “magical shape-shifting  tables” in our class area because every single day they’re arranged differently. I also included the “hidden staircase” that hardly anyone uses because I finally got around to using it and I never knew there were huge windows to look out of!! So hopefully the students will get to see the cool view from those stairs that are pointed out on my map.

A form of visual rhetoric included in my map is definitely generalization. Since I drew the whole floor of the library, it would be nearly impossible to get every detail right, so the bookcases are long rectangular shapes while chairs are little ovals. They look like basic shapes on their own, but when put within the context of the map it’s fairly easy to tell what they’re supposed to be. If I had tried to draw every individual chair and book it probably would’ve taken away from the main purpose of the map, which is to make the area magical.

Anyhow, I hope whoever ends up getting my map enjoys it, because I’ve ended up putting way much more time and effort into this than I thought I would. It should turn out pretty decently!!

P.S.-The cover looks pretty plain but the inside isn’t as much, I promise!

One thought on “A Sneak Peek of My Map

Leave a comment